takethisworld

and give me Jesus!

I pray for discontentment…

on January 28, 2014

Yesterday, it hit me…like a ton of bricks.  Seriously, my head still hurts. 🙂

Contentment is one of the most harmful ways of thinking.

For the past few years, I have fought long and hard to feel content with my life.  I was upset with my circumstances and decided that I just needed to be content.  So, I prayed and prayed and prayed. “God help me to be content with my life.  Help me to be grateful for what I have and not focus so much on what I don’t.”

Yup, things were going well.  I started to feel content with my life.  Let me tell you, I have never been more depressed nor discouraged.

Let me explain.  Being content with all that I have and all that I’ve done is really just saying, “I give up.”  If I go to bed each night saying “Yup, this is where I’m meant to be.  I sure did all I could possibly do today.” then I truly have accepted a flawed way of thinking.  Instead, I need to wake up each morning saying “What can I do better today.  What is the next level that I can take my life?  How can I make today better than yesterday.”

Don’t get me wrong.  I truly believe that we need to have a thankful heart.  I praise God each and every day with a heart full of gratitude for what He has given me.  He has blessed me beyond imagination.  However, I believe that He wants me to do better each day.

I pray that I never fall into the trap of contentment again.  I pray that each day I wake knowing I need to pray more than I did the day before.  I need to shine Your light more than the day before.  I need to work harder.  I need to love more.


Leave a comment